Scholarship Winners 2016

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Meet our PCRTA Scholarship Recipients!

It is with great pleasure that PCRTA announces our 2016 Scholarship Recipients!  We wish much success to these very talented and bright scholars. Please come to our July 21, 2016, luncheon meeting to meet them and learn about their many talents and future plans. The theme for the interactive luncheon program with the scholarship winners centers around the Presidential Election. The luncheon reservation form is on page 10.


Ken and Nancy Bliss Scholarship

Steven Joseph Farhat    Ravenna High School    Major: education

Ray and Doris Aeschliman Scholarship

Reagan Butler   Kent Roosevelt High School    Major: studio art and education

Merri-Lu Ritz Memorial Scholarship 

Madeline Zupko  Streetsboro High School    Major: secondary education and journalism

Annual PCRTA  Memorial Scholarship in honor of Janet May and Martha Hatcher

Ryan Conroy     Field High School   Major: middle school education

PCRTA Scholarships

Zachary Adair   Kent Roosevelt High School   Major: secondary education and math

EmiLee Hartman   Kent Roosevelt High School   Major: secondary education and math

Coreena Wise   Kent Roosevelt High School   Major: secondary education and math

The following PCRTA members gave out the scholarship certificates at the various honors programs:  Ria Mastromatteo at Field, Sylvia Armstrong at Roosevelt, and Jim Montaquila at Streetsboro.

Scholarship Chair Jim Montaquila reported that the committee met on Friday, April 15 to review the applications for scholarships. The committee members were Jim Montaquila, Jan Fencl, Pat Gynn, Lowell Myers, Darlene Fetterhoff, Ria Mastromatteo and Kay Wise.

There were thirteen applicants from five schools. The committee selected seven students to receive scholarships of $1,500.